Stations of the Cross
Home Up


Church Index
Stained Glass
The Burning Bush
Stations of the Cross
Other Artworks
Communion Tokens
Burgh Churches
Presbyterian Index

"From the earliest of days, followers of Jesus told the story of his passion, death and resurrection.  When pilgrims came to see Jerusalem, they were anxious to see the sites where Jesus was.  These sites become important holy connections with Jesus.  Eventually, following in the footsteps of the Lord, along the way of the cross, became a part of the pilgrimage visit.

The stations, as we know them today, came about when it was no longer easy or even possible to visit the holy sites.  In the 1500's, villages all over Europe started creating "replicas" of the way of the cross, with small shrines commemorating the places along the route in Jerusalem.  Eventually, these shrines became the set of 14 stations we now know and were placed in almost every Catholic Church in the world."

Extracted from the Online Stations of the Cross at:

Through the centuries, the representations of the Stations have been created in a variety of forms and materials, and might be considered artworks in their own right, apart from the function they serve.  Although some similarities are apparent, many of the sets of Stations in the east Glasgow churches are quite distinctive from each other.  Examples from some of these sets are presented below;


Station I - Jesus is Condemned to Die









(St. Mary's Church, Calton)

Station II - Jesus Carries His Cross






(St. Paul's Church, Shettleston)

Station III - Jesus Falls the First Time







(St. Barnabas' Church, Shettleston)

Station IV - Jesus Meets His Mother







(St. Mark's Church, Shettleston)

Station V - Simon Helps Jesus Carry His Cross





(St. Anne's Church, Dennistoun)

Station VI - Veronica Wipes His Face









(St. Bridget's Church, Baillieston)

Station VII - Jesus Falls a Second Time








(Sacred Heart Church, Bridgeton)

Station VIII - Jesus Meets the Women of Jerusalem







(St. Joseph's Church, Tollcorss)

Station IX - Jesus Falls the Third Time








(St. Maria Goretti's Church, Cranhill)

Station X - Jesus is Stripped








(Our Lady of Fatima's Church, Dalmarnock)

Station XI - Jesus is Nailed to the Cross








(Our Lady of Good Counsel's Church, Westercraig)

Station XII - Jesus Dies on the Cross







(St. Alphonsus's Church, Calton)

Station XIII - Jesus is Taken Down from the Cross








(St. Bernadette's Church, Carntyne)

Station XIV - Jesus is Laid in the Tomb








(St. Philip's Church, Ruchazie)


NOTES: Updated for 1st July, 2010.

The location of this site may vary with the availability of web space.  However, it can always be reached by searching for the domain names; or or or

Any comments you wish to make about this site can be sent to 

EastGlasgowHistory at

Replace the word "at" with the ampisand symbol "@" and remove spaces between the words.  I have started to use this to cut down on the amount of junk mail that arises from website trawlers which gather e-mail addresses.

Please indicate "East Glasgow History" as the subject of your e-mail to avoid exclusion as spam.

Users of AOL please note that I seem to have difficulty in replying to your enquiries.  If you make your enquiry through the Comments section I am can respond more easily, as can others.

Please note that copyrighted material should not be reproduced in any format without the consent of the author.